ZM Wrestlers have a Great Weekend at MN-USA State Tournament

Nine ZM wrestlers competed at the MN-USA state tournament over the weekend at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester. Five ended up on the podium with hardware to show for it, led by the smallest one, Jaxon Liffrig, with a state title!

Here is the MN state place winners from Zumbrota Mazeppa:

8u weight class C- Jaxon Liffrig State Champ

12u 70 pounds – Jonah Karow 5th Place

14u girls 83 pounds – Macy Schaefer 3rd place

14u 87 pounds – Samuel Moore 5th Place

14u 149 pounds – Cain Lexvold 3rd Place

Jaxon Liffrig 8u weight class C state champ
Jonah Karow 12u 70 pounds 5th place
Macy Schaefer 14u girls 83 pounds 3rd place
Samuel Moore 14u 87 pounds 5th place
Cain Lexvold 14u 149 pounds 3rd place

ZM 7th and 8th Grade Wrestlers Take 1st in section 1; On to State!

The ZM 7th and 8th graders dual team competed on Sunday in a field of 9 teams in Grand Meadow for a chance to advance to state. ZM beat GMLOS, Chatfield and Pine Island to win the tournament and advance to state in 3 weeks. Congrats Cougars…can’t wait to watch you at state!

Here is a link to the photos taken from this tournament:

Tupper 5th and Krier 6th at State Tournament

Gabe Tupper and Jack Krier made the MN State podium at the Xcel Center on Friday and Saturday. Gabe went 4-2 and finished 5th overall. Jack went 3-3, and unfortunately had to forfeit his last two matches due to injury. Kaleb Lochner ended up 2-2 and just missed the podium by one match. Lucas Schiell ended up 0-1. You guys battled hard and made us all proud!

Gabe Tupper 5th place 182 pounds class AA
Jack Krier 6th place 120 pounds class AA

Krier, Schiell, Lochner, Tupper punch their ticket to state!

The section 1AA tournament wrapped up today with 4 Cougars earning a trip to the state championships! Jack Krier won the Section 1AA championship, while Lucas Schiell, Kaleb Lochner, and Gabe Tupper each finished 2nd place in their bracket to represent ZM at the state tournament. Can’t wait to cheer ya guys on!!

Other Cougar place winners are:

3rd place: Noah Schaefer, Laiken Copeman, Ryan Lexvold

4th place: Ben Murray, Cody Anderson

5th place: Isaiah O`Reilly, Dalton Hall

6th place: Lucas Williams, Mason Goodman

These guys all earned some pizza!

ZM finishes 2nd place in Section 1AA

In the first year that ZM has been bumped up to class AA, ZM finished in 2nd place behind Kasson Mantorville in Section 1AA.

On Thursday night, ZM hosted Cannon falls in 2nd round action and defeated the Bombers 51-18 to advance to Saturday’s semifinals in Rochester. In their semifinal, ZM beat traditional powerhouse Albert Lea 40-23 to advance to the championship match vs Kasson Mantorville.

The #2 ranked Komets topped ZM by a final of 51-16 to round out the last dual of the season for ZM. ZM will wrestle on Feb 25 and 26th in the Mayo Civic Center for individual state trips. Good luck!!

Section 1AA Runner’s up!!

Pictures from Thursday’s match vs Cannon Falls.

ZM K-6 Earn 2nd Place at Byron Challenge.

The ZM youth team finished 2nd place out of the 10 teams competing in the Byron Challenge on Sunday. The ZM team was led by Jaxon Liffrig and Owen Lexvold as they won their brackets in the challenge.

ZM Youth completing in the Byron Challenge

Team scores:

Zumbrota Mazeppa216
Kasson Mantorville193
Apple Valley164
Albert Lea94

Individual Place Winners were:

1st Place: Jaxon Liffrig, Owen Lexvold

2nd place: Levi Matthees, Brody Lohmann

3rd place: Jonah Karow, Bryce Gerdes, Kason Hill

4th place: Mason Haugen, Elih Schaefer, Lincoln Toombs, Jacob Matthees, Jacob Moran

5th place: Jaxon Riggs, Tanner Poncelet, Braylen DeFrang, Gabe O’Connor

ZM JV wins the end of season HVL Tournament

The ZM JV team won the end of season HVL tournament held in Kasson on Saturday. The future continues to look bright!

Here is a link to pictures from this tournament:

ZM JV wins HVL tournament

Team scores :

Zumbrota Mazeppa298
Kasson Mantorville251
Pine Island130
Lake City122.5
Cannon Falls9

Individual place winners:

1st place: Carl Murray, Jent Beyer, Keagan Haugen, Myles Ramer, Gunner Mancilman, Laiken Copeman

2nd place: Sam Moore, Chase Dohrn, Colby Dohrn, Max Ramer, Tanner Finstuen, Cain Lexvold, Tucker Buck

3rd place: Aiden Majerus, Zayne Novak, Wilson Nordquist, Logan Jacobs, Alex McKinney